History page
The formation of a Wooden Hull Owners Association was the brainchild of Clark Sweet in 1972. Clark, like many who owned wooden hull sailboats then, felt to be at a disadvantage in his favorite races. The 60's and 70's saw an explosion in the manufacturing of affordable fiberglass boats, and this made equitable regatta handicapping of wooden and fiberglass vessels most difficult. Clark contacted Ray Wallace and discussed the formation of an organization dedicated to traditional wood sailboats with equal emphasis placed on racing and cruising. A pilot letter was mailed to 25 skippers. The response was very positive, with many volunteering to assist. A second mailing generated 109 responses, and Wooden Hull was born.

The first organized meeting was held in June 1972, at the Long beach Yacht Club, with an attendance of 40 interested owners. Clark Sweet and Ray Wallace were elected as Co-Commodores, Peggy Gregory as Secretary, and John Carnes as Treasurer. Bylaws were drawn up and the name "Wooden Hull Owners Association" was established. Area delegates were elected for the Long Beach, Newport Beach, Los Angeles, Marina Del Rey, Redondo Beach, and Dana Point areas. WHOA was incorporated and Ray Wallace Designed the burgee.
WHOA's first function was a highly successful race/cruise from Newport to Dana Point in October, 1972, with 42 boats participating. In the years to follow, more activities were added, and have become regular events.

In 1977 WHOA was elected to membership in the Southern California Yachting Association (SCYA), which allowed members to receive Yacht Club reciprocal privileges, to participate in SCYA racing events, and authorized the Club's Board of Directors to assign PHRF handicap ratings for member's boats.

In 1989, the advent of the annual Newport Beach Wooden Boat Festival saw WHOA inaugurate its own popular booth, manned by members and dedicated to the arts and crafts of nautical woodworking.

In August 1991, the club membership voted unanimously to change the organizations official name from Wooden Hull Owners Association to Wooden Hull Yacht Club, reflecting the clubs true status in the yachting community.

Clark Sweet, Ray Wallace and Eric Ericson were elected Life Members; they deserve a hearty thanks for their hard work and dedication to the founding of Wooden Hull Yacht Club.
Jim Howe
Ted Spector
Morrie Mohill
Ed Gregory
Ester Spector
Dick McNish
Clark Sweet
Charles Carey
J. Addison Sawyer
Charles Kern
Duke McEachern
Beverly Fredendall
Ray Wallace
Henry Lesse
Eric Erickson
Peggy Slater
Mick Andrews
John Langton
Joey Harris
Fred Howe


Clark Sweet / Ray Wallace


David Smith
1973 Clark Sweet 1993 Steve Ward
1974 Eric Erickson 1994 Jim Squire
1975 Dave Delo 1995 Mick Andrews
1976 Greg Alexander 1996 David Webb
1977 George Rombach 1997 Tom Cooper
1978 Duke McEachern 1998 Jon Duff
1979 Morie Mohill 1999 Audrey Squire/Garth Blair
1980 Ted Spector 2000 Vance Stapleton
1981 Ted Spector 2001 Steven Ward
1982 Jim McEachern 2002 David Smith
1983 Jack Keefer 2003 Will Durant
1984 Dan Rankin 2004 Alan Peterson, Jr.
1985 Ester Spector 2005 Alan Peterson, Jr.
1986 David Abrahamsen 2006-07 Jerry Klein
1987-88 Jim Howe 2008 Chris Frost
2009-10 Stephen Kincaid